Response 1: It’s the Little Things

When perusing my classmates’ blogs, none spoke to me as much as Erika’s Grateful for My Health personal post.

Her explanation of her friend’s injuries, startling picture of the boy with no hands and her challenge to encourage someone struck a cord with me.

When it comes to positivity like this, my mother reigns supreme. It comes largely in part to her faith, she’s always told me that:

“God can do it and we all need to turn our troubles over to Him.”

She has always been the backbone of our family (a trait she passed down to me) and a person whose strength surprises me daily. Erika’s gratefulness and belief of just how blessed we are (sentiments I share) are so similar to my mother.

Erika made me reflect on what I’m most grateful for, the things that aren’t tangible. Things like my mom’s strength, my health, my resilience and her spirituality. All things that have gotten me to the humble place I am today. I’ve by no means “made it” but I’m doing ok for myself, with potential to do great.

I’m grateful for the little things in life that we use everyday without thought. I’m thankful for my mom’s worrisome texts, for my ability to breathe, run and laugh, for a roof over my head and so much more. We take a lot of things for granted but Erika’s post made me take a moment and give thanks.

This song, “Little Things,” by India.Arie sums up my moment perfectly.

Leave a comment